ELDERLY & DISABLED TAXATION FUND COMMITTEE

February 22, 2012

1:00 P.M.

Northborough Town Hall - Selectmen's Meeting Room

Members Present:Members Absent:Diane O'ConnorMitch Gordon

June Hubbard-Ward Jennifer Critchlow

Also Present:

Jocelyn Ehrhardt, Senior Center Outreach

Susan Reagan, Assessors Assistant

June Hubbard-Ward called the meeting to order at 1:00PM.

June Hubbard-Ward distributed a copy of the June 20, 2011 minutes.

MOTION by Diane O'Connor to accept the minutes of June 20, 2011. SECONDED: Jennifer Critchlow APPROVED: Unanimous

• Executive session at 1:45PM

MOTION by Jennifer Critchlow to go into Executive Session pursuant to M.G.L. Chapter 30A, Section 21, Subsection 7. SECONDED: Diane O'Connor APPROVED: Unanimous

• Returned to regular session at 2:27PM

Based on the information presented in the Executive Session:

MOTION by Diane O'Connor to award \$1,500.00 Referral #1 from Jocelyn Ehrhardt SECONDED: Jennifer Critchlow. APPROVED: Unanimous

MOTION by Jennifer Critchlow to award \$500.00 Referral #2 from Jocelyn Ehrhardt SECONDED: June Hubbard-Ward. APPROVED 2 YES, 1 NO

MOTION by Jennifer Critchlow to award \$1,000.00 to each of 9 listed by Assessing Department for a total award of \$9,000.00. SECONDED: Diane O'Connor APPROVED: Unanimous

June Hubbard-Ward will apply the awards to their tax bills.

June Hubbard-Ward provided a financial report. As of February 22, 2012, the Tax Check Off Fund has a balance of \$38,797.75, the Gift account a balance of \$7,825.22.

The Committee reviewed the terms of the "Program Revised April 2010". The following changes were made:

- Program Revised February 2012
- Income Requirement should not exceed \$40,000 per year.
- Assessed Value Requirement cannot exceed the average of all single family home in the fiscal year of the award.
- Under Section C.) Program Award Procedure, substituted "Recipient" for the word applicant where applicable. Deleted ""Applicants must reapply for assistance in subsequent years with no guarantee that future assistance will be granted."

MOTION by Diane O'Connor to accept the revisions to "Program Revised February 22, 2012". SECONDED: Jennifer Critchlow. APPROVED: Unanimous

MOTION by Diane O'Connor at 2:55PM to adjourn. SECONDED: Jennifer Critchlow. APPROVED: Unanimous

Respectfully submitted,

June Hubbard-Ward

Member

EDTFC